The Milton Keynes Big 5k Fun Run 2012 Re-cap

Let me start by saying that even more than 24 hours later I am still buzzing 🙂

The Milton Keynes Big Fun Run is held at Willen Lake, a beautiful lake surrounded by trees and parks.  I am not sure how many years this event has been held there because as you know I am pretty new to this running malarkey but I do know that this spot is just beautiful for running.  When I was here last Thursday with Michelle for our test run, I noticed a lots of blue running shirts around, these were members of The MK Lakeside Runners.  I can certainly understand why they would choose this route for their runs.

This is the map from the Sports-tracker app on my phone

Anyway, I got up early Sunday morning so that I could wake up nice and gently before I woke the rest of the house.  I felt a little nervous but not as bad as I thought I would.  I was very nervous before the Sport Relief Mile and I was glad that I used that event as a sort of practice run.

We arrived at Willen and found that the parking gods were smiling on us as we found a parking space straight away.  Lots of runners were starting to arrive in their charity shirts and costumes, the place was buzzing.

When we got to the lake we were greeted by this

Me and Michelle at the start line

I needed the loo so I thought I should get the obligatory Portaloo photo 🙂

The view from the queue

When I finally got into my toilet I found that I was in the one that was placed on uneven ground, it was VERY wobbly and I was very scared…

Shortly after my white knuckle ride in the Portapotty we headed to the start for the warm-up and on the way we bumped into Luigi.

The Warm-up

At 11 we were off…

I am just behind runner no 3788

I didn’t get many pictures during the actual race, I don’t have a Garmin, I use a phone app the track my runs so I had to get poor Michelle to take a couple of pics for me as we went as I can’t interrupt the app to take photo’s…of course if Garmin would like me to test any of their products I would be happy to provide a review 😉

Anyway, although it was a cloudy day it was very warm so I started to get really hot very quick.  The first 2k went really quick and I felt like I had gone further than I actually had so when we turned the corner and reached the sign for 2k, a little bit of panic set in and I started to wonder if I could actually get though this and live to tell the tale…

At 3k the clouds lifted and the breeze from across the lake got a bit cooler.   We stopped to get a picture of the finish line from across the lake at the 3k point…

Look across the lake and you can just see a red blob in the centre…that was the finish line!

Somewhere between 3 and 4k my left hip started to gripe a little but surprisingly only if I slowed down to a ‘power-walk’ pace, as long as I kept the tempo at a jog or quicker it was fine.

At 4k we knew we were on the home straight so we stopped for a picture…

The 4k point…check out my red face!

We had a second wind at this point because we knew that we were so close to the finish.  As we turned the corner and passed the hotel all the people who we sitting outside with meals and drinks gave us a cheer as we passed 🙂

We passed runners who were leaving as they were done and they were shouting ‘well done, nearly there!’  Runners are so awesome…

Finally the finish was in sight…

The most beautiful finish line I have ever seen 🙂

No, I didn’t stop this close to the finish line, Steve took this while I was still running, along with these…

A family of runners cross the line being chased by Mario & Luigi
The Mad Hatter and The White Rabbit a little far from Wonderland…

We didn’t get a photo of us crossing the line but I know the official photographer did and I will probably be buying it so I will post it once I do.

Finish Line Posers

My sports-tracker app had us down for 5.89km in 51.15…I know that sometimes these things can be inaccurate, but seriously…can they be that inaccurate?  I find it hard to believe that the organisers of this event would actually have us run almost 6km so I have a feeling my app is slightly dodgy.  Especially as Steve said he checked the time we finished and he had it a 39 mins…oh well, I don’t care 🙂  39 or 51…I will take either!

Stats…I so need a Garmin!

To say I am happy that I completed this 5k is an understatement and proud just does not cover it.  I wasn’t as prepared as I would have liked to have been and it has been a long slog to finally get here but in the end I got there and I did cross that line.  It wasn’t pretty, I did not run the whole 5k (there were walk intervals) and I was a red, sweaty mess at the end but I got the job done.  I would do it again in heart beat, in fact I probably will 🙂

Oscar acceptance speech time…Firstly I have to thank Steve, Alisha and Zak who ALL at some point came out to train with me, their help and support has been amazing.

I would also like to thank the rest of my family and friends for the support and encouragement they have given me.  They have always been interested in my progress and many of them have sponsored me.

Michelle, who even though we didn’t train together still trained and took part in this with me.  She is the best BFF anyone could ever have.

The Blogisphere…I had no idea when I first started on this quest how kind, supportive and just amazing you guys are. You have welcomed this noob into your world of blogging and running without question, some of you have offered sound advice and some of you have even sponsored me (despite living across the other side of the world!).  There are too many of you to mention but here are a few of the special ones…Caroline, Chip, The Happy Runner, Coach Doug Bowers.  Like I said there are lots of you and I value each one of you immensely.

My Just Giving sponsorship page will be available until the 31st December, so there is still time to sponsor me if you want to, the link is HERE.  The total so far is £230…I am so pleased with this 🙂  Thank you everyone who has sponsored me, you guys rock!

The event was well organised and the route was well sign-posted with plenty of volunteers who did an amazing job and cheered us on at each 1km marker.  Thank you volunteers!

The only gripe I have is that by the time we finished they had run out of medals…I was very disappointed by this if I am honest…after 9 months of training, they can’t even get the maths right?!  They will be sending me my medal in the post which I am grateful for but it’s just not the same.  We have just hosted the Olympics…thank god we got the medal count right then eh?!  Apart from that it was a great experience and I would run in a Big Fun Run event again.

So there you have it, my race-recap…Now it’s time to think about what’s next.  I WILL be continuing to run, I have the bug now.  I am taking a few days off and then Michelle and I will start training again ready for the next one.  I have no idea what charity, distance or event but you have not seen the last of me!

22 thoughts on “The Milton Keynes Big 5k Fun Run 2012 Re-cap

    • Oh it was…I am so addicted and the great thing about this course is that it is a public area that I can just go to whenever I like…I think I will be spending a lot more time there 🙂

    • Thank you Susan. I had such a great time. It was such a special race especially as it was my first proper distance run, for Billie, ran with my best friend of 8 years! I can’t wait for the next one 🙂

  1. Well done Jules, absolutely fantastic! You are an inspiration, with all the problems you’ve encountered along the way, to just get out there and do it! Have really enjoyed your posts and looking forward to reading about your next challenge xx

    • Thanks Anne…It was a slog with the issues I have had, but I have most definately come out the otherside a healthier person. I can’t wait for the next one. I will be continuing with both the running and the blogging 🙂

  2. As always Jules…a wonderful job! Problems? What problems? Onward and upward I say. We crazy people just keep on ticking like the Energizer bunny.
    Congrats – I’ll be checking in more regularly now. My relax week is almost over!
    doug

  3. Anybody running any event need to be applauded!! I’m always chuffed to see the turn outs at events such as this and the weekly parkrun.
    I am now a huge fan of the big fun run event as I was first back, the only time I will ever be ‘1st’ 🙂
    Keep up the great running

Leave a Reply

