Extraction and I don’t mean the CIA type…

The worst bit is over…I think.  Today I returned to the dentist to have a tooth taken out.   I do still have to go back for three fillings (not all at the same time I hope!) and my next appointment is 11th September.

Today’s appointment was at 4.40 this evening so I had all day to think and worry about it.  Typically I got up today with no pain despite the fact that I have been in agony for the last 10 days.  I actually wondered why I was doing this to myself and considered cancelling but I knew that Steve would never let me get away with that.

Seriously…I would have s**t myself if I had seen this coming towards me!

By the time we drove the 20 mins to Buckingham I was terrified.  The 10 minute wait made my terror worse and by the time I was called in I was shaking like a leaf.  I had to have to have 2 injections of anesthetic, the first didn’t hurt at all, I didn’t feel a thing but the second one hurt like a b***h.  The actual extraction did not hurt at all but the feeling of incredible pressure while the dentist was pushing and pulling the tooth inside my mouth was horrible.  The whole thing probably took 5 or 10 minutes and really wasn’t that bad although now I do feel like I have been punched in the face.  I am now very carefully sipping 7-Up through a straw as I can’t feel the right side of my face.  I have a feeling it’s going to hurt quite a lot once the anesthetic has worn off, but for now I feel very brave.

Moving on…as you know from previous posts I have not run since my last dentist appointment 10 days ago.  It is only 5 days until Billie’s 5k so I have arranged to run the actual course on Thursday evening with Michelle.  Michelle is my best friend and we have never run together before so I am really looking forward to it.  Another thing to look forward is that our good friend Scott is coming to visit on Friday.  He is coming to support me during the 5k and to do some of the usual geeky things we do like play World of Warcraft, watch lots of Family Guy and Red Dwarf.

My face is starting to come back to life a little now and its a very uncomfortable.  I am going to go and play some World of Warcraft because we have a major patch happening tonight.

See you later 🙂

Jules

7 thoughts on “Extraction and I don’t mean the CIA type…

Leave a Reply

