Day One – Update

I had my last cigarette at about 4.30 this morning and I have not smoked since.  I have to be honest with you, I found it a little difficult when I got up this morning.  My usual routine is to make coffee and then smoke and I had to remind myself that I am not smoking anymore.  For a split second there I almost had a ‘f*** it!’ moment, but I had a word with myself and slapped on that patch.  I know that if I can do this, running for me will be so much better, not to mention the fact that my high blood pressure will go down and I will live longer!

A couple of times today I thought about smoking…but picked up the inhalator instead.  It seems to work…well put it this way, almost 10 hours later and I have not smoked…yes you did hear me right, I did say 10.

I thought I might have a problem at dinnertime.  The first thing I do when I have eaten a meal is light a cigarette…not today.  Again I just reached for the inhalator and I was fine.

I thought that by now I would be going crazy for a smoke and that fact that I’m not surprises me.  I am just going to take it a day at a time but so far Day 1 appears to be a success.

I just hope tomorrow is the same…

14 thoughts on “Day One – Update

  1. I know what you are going through, and you can’t help but think about it constantly, just keep counting down the hours, then days, then it’ll be weeks, and then years 🙂
    You might feel more sleepy tired then usual or get a headache, all signs of the chemicals leaving your body.

    Chin up!!

  2. You can do it. I’m on Day 7 and believe me it really does get easier. I find chewing gum and sucking lollipops helps – anything to keep your mouth and hands busy. And try to distract yourself from thinking about cigarettes by watching TV or reading a book if possible. Good luck!

  3. “One day at a time, Sweet Jesus, that’s all I’m asking of you.” Thought of this song while reading your blog. You can do it, girl! All joy in living a smoke free life. HF

Leave a Reply

