The Sport Relief Mile 2012 ‘Race Re-cap’

I am a very happy girl right now…Not only did I complete my first ever running event today but guess what…I DIDN’T COME LAST!! 🙂

This was not a timed run.  There were serious runners there who were going for PR’s and timed themselves on their Garmin’s.  I wasn’t bothered about time, I just wanted to soak up the atmosphere and have a good time, but I ran with my Mp3 player going and adding up the track times, I estimate my time at approx 12 mins for the mile.  I am more than happy with that.  I did have walk breaks but I know I actually ran more than I walked.  I think this is pretty good for someone who a couple of months ago did no exercise at all and couldn’t run, even when chased!  I am very proud of myself.

I was really nervous when I got up this morning so even though I usually eat something before I train, today I couldn’t stomach it.

Arriving for the warm-up

I think we had to walk more than a mile from the car park to the start.

Waiting for the warm-up

There were loads of people there when we arrived and it was soon time to warm-up.  It was done by three nice ladies from Fitness First.

Full credit to this guy and his mate who ran the mile in full wet suit WITH the Oxygen tank too!

As this was a fun run there were loads of people in costume, including the guy above in full diving gear…there was a team carrying a dragon boat…they were awesome, I am hoping that Mark got a pic of them that I can post later!  So many people took part, it was a real community effort.

The obligatory tu-tu runners 🙂

I ran in the middle of the pack for pretty much all of the race, which I am more than happy with.  Sadly there are no pics of me crossing the line but I do believe we have a video which I post later.

The medal pose...very hot but very happy!

A brilliant time was had by all and the event was brilliantly organised.  The were bands playing at each turn and lots of spectators cheering the runners on.  It was a wonderful atmosphere and almost 3 hours later I think I am still buzzing 🙂

Sport Relief events have been running across the county for the last couple of months, even some celebs took part…so far the total raised is £52,070,587!  I am very proud to have taken part.

My only gripe about the event was how Milton Keynes Council still charged for car parking…With it being a charity event I think they should have either not charged for parking or donate all the parking charges taken during the event to Sport Relief.

Before I go, I just want to thank Steve, for the support and help he has given me during my training.  He is awesome!  He always trains with me so I don’t have to go out on my own and gives me so much encouragement.

I also want to say thank you to our very good friend Mark, who was kind enough to take me to the race today and took pictures (hopefully I can post them later along with the vid)…Thank you guys!

So there it is…my first ever ‘race re-cap’  I don’t think I need to say that now I understand why runners get addicted to running races 🙂

Jules

21 thoughts on “The Sport Relief Mile 2012 ‘Race Re-cap’

  1. Congrats on your first race! And congrats on not coming in last! 😉
    Props to the guy in the wetsuit with the oxygen tank – that is crazy!

  2. Thanks Jill…I did see some people in jeans today but sadly I didn’t take my camera with me when I ran 😦 I will leave instructions for Steve next time though 🙂

      • Hehehehee, just think if you had been doing it for 40 years how addictive it is – like a big monkey on your back when you can’t do it. 🙂 Glad you feel good about it and hope you stick with it. 🙂

      • 🙂 Of course it is!! It is addicting! My first year running, I just kept bumping up the distance. Then, when I finally got to the half marathon distance, I got a 13.1 tattoo immediately after, thinking this was my big lifetime accomplishment 🙂 Then, I just kept on going. I hope you get the bug too!

Leave a Reply

