In the words of James Brown…I feel good…

Today I feel like this!

I have just returned from the my first run in almost 2 weeks…and it felt awesome!  I have to admit I didn’t feel like I was making any progress and was getting disheartened about that so when I started suffering from shin splits a couple of weeks ago, if I am perfectly honest I welcomed the break.  The problem with taking a break is that when it is time to get back on the horse, you start making excuses…and make excuses I did.  Don’t get me wrong…I didn’t go back to being a couch potato, I still got off my ass and walked but I did not run…at all.

I was starting to get quite worried because the Sport Relief Mile is only 5 sleeps away, but not now…because I just did 2.3 miles…and I enjoyed it!  Maybe it was the new running tights?!  Who knows?  Despite not running for such a long time, today I noticed some differences, only little ones, but they are happening.  I noticed that I felt no pain…anywhere.  So that can’t be bad.  I noticed that my lungs are no longer hurting…this will improve all the more when I quit smoking and as I said in the post Shins & Smoking, I have an appointment with my Doctor on the 27th March to discuss quitting…I still love running more than smoking.  I seem to have now found a comfortable stride/breathing rhythm and it doesn’t take me long to get into that zone.  I am aware that I did most of today’s run with a stupid grin on my face.  Another change and the most important one, I think is the fact that I finished strong…something that has never happened before.  Usually by the end I feel like I am dying…but not today.  I feel great and that is such a confidence boost.  A boost that I really needed too.  My motivation is back…BIG TIME!  🙂

I am now REALLY excited about the race on Sunday…its just a mile…it should be easy right?!  I can’t wait to be actually running in an event…something I have not done since I was about 12 years old.

In Support of Sport Relief, an initiative of Comic Relief, registered charity 326568 (England/Wales); SC039730 (Scotland)

I must say a huge thank you to My Steve.  His support throughout this has been fantastic.  He has put up with my tantrums and my crap and been with me every step of the way…literally 🙂

Thank you again to those of you who have sponsored me…you are awesome! 

Jules 🙂

3 thoughts on “In the words of James Brown…I feel good…

Leave a Reply

