Get on with it girl!

Today I found training really hard and I think I need to give myself a good talking to.  I only trained twice last week, I found myself making excuses and while they seemed good enough at the time, now when I look back it is clear to me that really they were pretty lame.  It wasn’t the best of weeks for me and I think I let it get to me too much. I let it knock my confidence.

I know I want to do this, I think about it pretty much all the time and when it goes well the feeling is amazing. So, I know that this week I need to dig deeper and try harder.  I need to draw a line under last week and move on.

I think the way to move forward is to look back over the last few weeks and see what I have acheived…When I first started this I had done no real exercise for years.  I have never been a great exerciser.  As a youngster I used to play sport at school and I enjoyed it.  I ran cross-country for the school and played netball and hockey, I was never going to set the world on fire but I was quite active.  By the time I reached my teens my love of sport was replaced with a love of Rock music and my new-found interest in boys and booze.  I hated PE and even wrote letters to excuse myself from games and signed my Dads name (sorry Dad!).  Exercise became a very rare activity for me and in the last 3 years I have hardly left my desk.  I hated walking even short distances. At 37 I have found the bad habits of the last decade very hard to break.  I developed back problems which I think were made worse by sitting on my ass all the time.

But at the start of this year I decided that I wanted to raise money for a charity that is very close to my heart.  So I decided to register for a 5K fun run.  Now I could walk it if I wanted but saw this as an opportunity to better myself in the process.  I started training to run as much of the 5K as I can.  When I look back over the last few weeks I can see that I have already achieved something…for me to even get up of my office chair and walk out the front door is an achievement in itself but I can run now.  Not far or for very long but I can run.  A couple of weeks ago I walked, with Steve for 7.7km, I didn’t get out of breath and I actually enjoyed it.  A couple of months ago the thought of walking even 1km would have filled me with horror and I would have refused to do it! 7.7 km is a miracle for me 🙂

So this is me having a word with myself 🙂  I do feel proud of myself for what I have done so far and I am drawing a line under last week and moving on.

Jules

 

5 thoughts on “Get on with it girl!

  1. I’ve been there as well; making excuses was a hobby of mine, until I just said – enough is enough – and did something about it:)) Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  2. I think you are probably right about your back problems, the human body was not intended to sit in a chair for long periods. I’m glad that you can see what you need to do, it is difficult at first but if you stick at it, you will improve. Don’t give up.

  3. Keep looking forward! You will get better, you will go further and you will get in the shape of your life! Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise! :0)

Leave a Reply

